Skip links and keyboard navigation

    4.1 Parliament of Queensland

    The Parliament of Queensland is the State’s paramount law-making body. It consists of the Queen and the Legislative Assembly. In Queensland, there is no second legislative chamber (or upper House). The Queen’s role in the Parliament of Queensland is carried out by her representative in Queensland, the Governor. The Queen may carry out her role if personally present in Queensland though, to date, this possibility has remained hypothetical.

    The Legislative Assembly’s composition and legislative powers are provided for in the Constitution of Queensland 2001, chapter 2, part 1 and the Constitution Act 1867, sections 1 and 2. It operates in accordance with the standing rules and orders authorised by the Parliament of Queensland Act 2001, section 11.

    ^ to top

    Last updated:
    13 November, 2013
    Last reviewed:
    13 November, 2013