Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Information Privacy Principles (IPPs)

    The 11 IPPs govern how personal information is collected, stored, used and disclosed by Government agencies. They can be broadly categorised into the following five groups:

    Collection of Information

    IPP 1.Collection of personal information (lawful and fair)
    IPP 2.Collection of personal information (requested from individual)
    IPP 3.Collection of personal information (relevance etc)

    Storage and Security of Information

    IPP 4.Storage and security of personal information
    IPP 5.Providing information about documents containing personal information

    Access and Amendment to Information

    IPP 6.Access to documents containing personal information
    IPP 7.Amendment of documents containing personal information

    Accuracy of Information

    IPP 8.Checking of accuracy etc. of personal information before use by agency

    Use and Disclosure of Personal Information

    IPP 9.Use of information only for relevant purpose
    IPP 10.Limits on use of personal information
    IPP 11.Limits on disclosure

    The primary intent of the IP Act is to protect the privacy of personal information that is collected and used in the delivery of government services and the conduct of government business.

    ^ to top

    Last updated:
    18 May, 2016
    Last reviewed:
    24 August, 2010