Skip links and keyboard navigation

    1.2 Office of Governor

    Section 11A of the Constitution Act 1867 and section 29 of the Constitution of Queensland 2001 provide for the office of Governor of the State.

    The Governor is appointed by Commission signed by the Sovereign on advice tendered directly by the Premier. The Governor holds office during the Sovereign's pleasure. However, by convention, the appointment is made for a period of five years.

    ^ to top

    Last updated:
    18 May, 2016
    Last reviewed:
    17 July, 2009